About Us News

Indian E-Tourist Visa

Back | Print

The e-Tourist Visa (eTV) scheme has been launched on 27 November 2014.  The citizens of these 45 countries (Australia, Brazil, Cambodia, Cook Islands, Djibouti, Fiji, Finland, Germany, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Laos PDR, Luxembourg, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Myanmar, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Norway, Oman, Palau, Palestine, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Russia, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Thailand, Tonga, Tuvalu, UAE, Ukraine, United States of America, Vanuatu, Vietnam, Guyana, Sri Lanka)  can apply online for tourist visas (twice a year, each visit not exceeding 30 days, visa duration non-extendable except in the event of medical emergencies) which shall be granted within 72 hours through email. The purpose of the visit may range from tourism, casual business visit, short term medical treatment, to meet friends and relatives.

The e-TVA scheme requires the eligible foreign nationals to apply 4 days in advance and obtain an Electronic Travel Authorisation before travelling to India through 9 designated international airports (Bangalore, Chennai, Kochin, Delhi, Goa, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Mumbai and Thiruvananthapuram). The e-Tourist Visa (eTV) scheme entails capture of biometric data of the visitor on arrival at the airport.

 For more information, please visit: https://indianvisaonline.gov.in/visa/tvoa.html

The portal also provides a helpline number (+91-11-24300666) and an email address (indiatvoa@gov.in) for applicants to approach for addressing their difficulties in connection with applying for e-TouristVisa.